Board of Directors


President: Sallee Lipshutz 

Secretary: Barbara Brustowicz

Treasurer: Thomas Elkind




Marjorie Arons-Barron, Megan Meirav, Matthew Stanberry, Carol Todreas, Marlo Tremaglio and Gail Wintersteiner



Thank you to Maureen Reilly-Meagher for her contribution in helping to get this project off the ground in its early stages. Additional thanks to Colleen Nolan, Liz Blum, John Rice, and Chris Pitts.


Public sector partners who moved the project along with their cooperation, skills, resources, and expertise include:


Nicole Banks, Commissioner of Parks, Recreation and Culture

Mark Welch, Deputy Commissioner of Parks, Recreation and Culture

Luis Perez Demorizi, Open Space Coordinator of Parks, Recreation and Culture

Derek Mannion, Department of Parks, Recreation and Culture

Earle Lord, Department of Parks, Recreation and Culture

Robert DeRubeis, retired, Commissioner of Parks and Recreation

Carol Schein, retired, Department of Parks and Recreation

Elaine Gentile, retired, Department of Parks and Recreation

James McGonagle, Commissioner of Department of Public Works

Shane Mark, Director of Operations of Department of Public Works

Nicole Freedman, Department of Transportation

John Rice, retired, City of Newton Ward Councilor for Ward 5

The Waban Area Council


In addition, this project had the enthusiastic support of Mayor Ruthanne Fuller.